Winners announced: 2019 Amateur Photographer of the Year

APOTY 2019 Device.png

This year’s competition had a total of 14,634 entries — our biggest yet! Our judges had the colossal task of whittling these down to just a handful for each category, which you can see printed in D-Photo issue 91 in our shortlist gallery.

The photographers of the 250-or-so images that made it to the shortlists should be very proud, as the quality of images entered was, by the judges’ own admission, extremely high. Did you make the shortlist?

For the main event, we devote 24 special-stock pages to displaying the winning images in all their glory for you to enjoy. Placing in a category’s top three is a phenomenal achievement — congratulations to all the winning photographers and our brand-new Amateur Photographer of the Year.



Sigma D-Photo Amateur Photographer of the Year isn’t just about the winners; every single person that enters makes the competition what it is. We would like to thank each of you who entered this year, and a massive thank you to our amazing judges and sponsors who make this competition possible:



Mark Gee

Kaye Davis

Leon Rose

Marina de Wit

Mareea Vegas

Mike Hollman

Ilan Wittenberg

Marina Mathews

Esther Bunning

Richard Wood

Jocelyn Janon