Jackie Ranken

Ranken Rising

Adrian Hatwell chats with one of the country’s most admired photographers, Jackie Ranken

Readers of D-Photo are already well acquainted with the sage photographic advice of regular contributor Jackie Ranken, and indeed anyone with even a casual association with photography has likely heard the name. In the last decade she has picked up some of the most prestigious industry accolades both here and abroad, including a World Press Photo award, Australian Photographer of the Year, two New Zealand Professional Photographer of the Year nods, and the title of Grand Master with the New Zealand Institute of Professional Photographers (NZIPP).

Though many are familiar with the images that earned these honours, not so well known is the path that led Ranken to her lofty position, a journey that began in the country town of Goulburn in the Southern Tablelands of New South Wales, Australia.

2.-Goulburn-Street-Ranken Read the rest of this entry »

D-Photo no. 58 out Monday

DP58Our clever subscribers can begin checking their mailboxes from tomorrow, but everyone else should run down to the local news agent because D-Photo no. 58 hits the shelves on Monday.

This issue we talk to portrait artist extraordinaire, Esther Bunning, about her magical Tales of Whimsy images that turn childhood dreams into photographic reality.

We also feature work from American master William Eggleston alongside New Zealand great Lawrence Aberhart, looking at a new exhibition exploring their contributions to the poetry of everyday life.

Travel photographer Josh Donnelly takes us on a photo tour of Myanmar and we look at Swiss photographer Sebastian Magnani’s arresting new project with a creative look at dogs and their owners.

You will also find an exclusive feature on the fresh, challenging work from New Zealand’s best young photographers in the Canon EYEcon awards, and learn how not to bore your friends to death with dull GoPro footage in Mead Norton‘s action video tutorial.

Our beloved regulars also offer up some inspiring insights, including Chris McLennan‘s tour of New Zealand’s best kept landscape secretes, Jackie Ranken‘s use of double exposure in travel photography, Andy Belcher‘s heart-pounding rafting photography.

Plus our resident experts are on hand to help you master light, with Paul Petch looking at the fundamentals of location portraiture and Luke White laying down the many studio options available with a single light.

And our tech-head reviewers put Sony’s full-frame mirrorless A7, Panasonic’s tiny Lumix GM1, Canon’s impressive L-series 200-400mm zoom lens and Olympus’s stylish OM-D E-M1 through their paces.

If you are keen to grab the new issue online you can do so here, or you can subscribe (or re-subscribe) and go in the draw to win one of two GoPro Hero3+ cameras – we’ve got a Black Edition worth $599 and a Silver Edition worth $479 to be won!

Iris ’13: Illustrative, Landscape, Travel

Continuing D-Photo’s online presentation of this year’s Epson/NZIPP Iris Professional Photography Awards we bring you the winners of the Illustrative, Landscape and Travel categories.

Illustrative category: Kelvin Gilbert

News Paper Face

Illustrative category – Gold Read the rest of this entry »

Iris ’12: Portrait Classic and Creative, Travel

D-Photo is happy to present further galleries of this year’s Epson/NZIPP Iris Professional Photography Awards, this time including winners of the Portrait Classic, Portrait Creative and Travel categories.

For the rest of our coverage of the 2012 Iris Awards click here.

Portrait Classic category

The esteemed Richard Wood finishes off his trifecta – following Highest Scoring Print – Colour and Illustrative Photographer of the Year awards – by also being named 2012’s top classic portrait photographer. Read the rest of this entry »

Iris ’12: Overseas, highest scoring prints

Continuing D-Photo’s online presentation of this year’s Epson/NZIPP Iris Professional Photography Awards we bring you the winners of the Overseas Professional Photographer of the Year, Highest Scoring Print – Colour and Highest Scoring Print – Monochrome categories.

Overseas Professional Photographer of the Year

The Overseas category went to Paul Hoelen, a commercial and fine art photographer originally from New Zealand, currently based in Tasmania, Asutrallia. His winning portfolio follows. Read the rest of this entry »

Iris ’12: NZ Professional photographer of the Year

Queenstown Photographer Jackie Ranken has, for a second time, won top honours at New Zealand’s most prestigious professional photography awards, being named the New Zealand Photographer of the Year.

Ranken, whom we are proud to count as a long-time D-Photo contributor, also took out the Highest Scoring Print – Monochrome and Portrait Creative categories at the 2012 Epson/NZIPP Iris Professional Photography Awards.

She topped 1211 entries to this year’s awards programme to add her new titles to an ever-growing cache of top-level awards, including Australian Professional Photographer of the Year, accrued over her 32-year career.

Chair of New Zealand Institute of Professional Photographers (NZIPP) honours council, Kaye Davis, says Ranken’s portfolio portrays landscape and people in a unique way with judges describing her work as “visual poetry, captured with a strong New Zealand essence.”

In the following days we’ll be bringing you galleries of all the category winners along with coverage of the NZIPP’s annual conference, Infocus, and the Iris awards in the next issue of D-Photo.

For now, check out Ranken’s winning portfolio below. Read the rest of this entry »

Australian Professional Photography Awards gallery part one

As part of our coverage of the 36th Canon AIPP Australian Professional Photography Awards, D-Photo beings you the first of two galleries displaying select works from this year’s winners.

2012 Canon AIPP Australian Professional Photographer of the Year – Adam Pretty, Sydney NSW

Read the rest of this entry »